Ministry of Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation, Water Resources Research and Development Center

The Ministry Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation (MoEWRI) have three departments namely the Department of Water Resources and Irrigation (DoWRI), Department of Electricity Development (DoED) and Department of Hydrology and Meteorology (DHM). Several organizations under the ministry are Water and Energy Commission Secretariat (WECS), Water Resource Research and Development Center (WRRDC), Ground Water Resources Development Board (GWRDB), Alternate Energy Promotion Center (APEC), Nepal Electricity Authority (NEA), Vidhyut Utpadan Company Limited, Rastriya Prasaran Grid Company Limited, Hydroelectricity Investment and Development Company Limited.

Government employees under the ministry and offices under it including employees who have a direct link with water resources development and management require short term and medium-term training related to their job for their efficient performance and development of professionalism. Currently, MoEWRI does not have such a training institute. In the view of the importance of such institute and for the research and development works in Water Resource Sector, "Water Resource Research and Development Centre (WRRDC)" with training, laboratory and research facilities under the direct supervision of Secretary (the then secretary of Ministry of Irrigation) was established in 2015 AD (2072 B). Now the center is under the direct supervision of the Secretary (Water Resources and Irrigation) under the  Ministry Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation (MoEWRI).

2020 All Rights reserved with Rolling Plans Pvt. Ltd.